1491

It’s been nearly a year since my last post, but there’s been a lot going on: new job, new city, etc.. Recently, however, I read the book 1491 by Charles C. Mann, which reveals what the Americas were really like before Columbus arrived. Although it’s a great read from cover to cover, I’d like to draw your attention to pages 198-199:

“On the day I [Mann] visited, the team was unburying a city they called HUARICANGA, after a nearby hamlet. Here the Pan-American Highway had, as it turned out, sliced through some of the oldest public architecture anywhere on earth.”

The entire chapter, entitled “Cotton (or Anchovies) and Maize,” focuses on early civilization in South America with quite a bit of attention on the Norte Chico region. Jonathan Haas and Winifred Creamer–my friends and colleagues–are featured rather predominantly as befitting their standing among archaeologists working in the area.

Moral of the story, the mention of the archaeological site (where I spent such a wonderful time with my HARP team members) in a national bestseller has motivated me to get back on track with publications. So stay tuned to our Results page!

1491

For more from Charles C. Mann check out his post on The Atlantic.

Categories: Results | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.